Category Archives: Databases

Explore eLibrary

Databases, Information, Our Collections, Previous Announcements, Research

Database Spotlight

Database Spotlight

Database Spotlight

Want to learn more about Grimm’s fairy tales or about Abraham Lincoln’s campaign for president? If so, then eLibrary is the place to visit. eLibrary is an immense collection of periodicals and digital media with authoritative information. It is designed and tailored for all types of researchers from the novice student researcher to the professional. The pages provide valuable contents for both common and unusual topics of research. All content is 100% full text, including documents from books, magazines, journals, newspapers, photographs, transcripts and videos.

How can you use eLibrary?

  • Offers a custom Guided Research application
  • Intuitive user interface
  • Editor created research topics
  • Cross-search other ProQuest resources
  • Easily export citations
  • Accessible on any device at any time

You can access eLibrary from this blog post or from our Databases page.

Contributed by Librarian Patricia Sotelo .

Explore EBSCO’s Military & Government Collections

Databases, Information, Our Collections, Previous Announcements, Research

Database Spotlight

Database Spotlight

Have you searched through the Military & Government Collections database? This database covers a wide range of topics pertaining to all branches of the U.S. military and government. It is designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers with cover-to-cover text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals (and abstracts) for an additional 400 titles.

What can you find on Military & Government Collections?

  • Periodicals and academic journals dating back to 1901
  • Wide spectrum of subjects covered: including military law and economics.
  • Cover-to-cover full texts, many highly searchable PDFs or scanned in color.
  • Easy citation tools.
  • Material from Army, Air Force, and Navy Times.

You can access the Military & Government Collections from this blog post or from our Databases page.
Contributed by Library Specialist William Heinrich.

Explore Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)

Databases, Information, Library Announcements, Our Collections, Previous Announcements, Research

Database Spotlight

Database Spotlight

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an internet-based digital library of education research and information. ERIC provides access to 1.5 million bibliographic records (citations, abstracts, and other pertinent data) of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added every week. A portion of the items is a collection of publication types which includes reports (annual, research, technical, etc.), working papers, and evaluations focused on the subject of education. Approximately one quarter of the complete ERIC Collection is available in full text. Materials with no full text available (primarily journal articles) can often be accessed using links to publisher websites and/or library holdings.

How can you use ERIC?

The ERIC collection includes bibliographic records (citations, abstracts, and other pertinent data) and/or full-text articles for 1.5 million items:

  • journal articles;
  • books;
  • research syntheses;
  • conference papers;
  • technical reports
  • policy papers; and
  • other education-related materials

You can access ERIC from this blog post or from our Databases page.
Contributed by Librarian Sabrina De Anda.

Database Spotlight

Explore EBSCO’s LearningExpress Library

Databases, Information, Previous Announcements, Research

Database Spotlight

Database Spotlight

Need to prepare for an occupational board exam, including NCLEX or TExES? Check out the practice exams in the LearningExpress Library database. New Users must create an account for the site in order to save their work, store score reports, and revisit any practice tests, tutorials, or eBooks. Registration only requires a valid email address and a password. This resource offers many other practice tests — explore!

How can you use LearningExpress?

  • Easy to follow video tutorials
  • Practice tests are based on real exams
  • Responsive design for use on desktop computers and mobile devices
  • Take practice exams either at your own pace or timed
  • Unlimited downloads for eBook content
  • Exams are accessible to all users, regardless of disability status.
LearningExpress Homepage

You can access LearningExpress from this blog post or from our Databases page.
Contributed by Librarian, Maureen Mitchell.

Database Spotlight – Films on Demand

Databases, Information, Our Collections, Previous Announcements

Have you checked out Films on Demand  yet? At Films On Demand, content matters. Their video library has been assembled not just with a focus on volume, but also with a discerning eye for quality and relevance. It is the result of decades of careful curating with a single guiding principle: providing every academic department on campus with the most essential video titles for their field of study. We have access to a huge collection of films and documentaries, ranging from publishers like HBO, Arte France, CNBC, PBS, and The History Channel. You can browse the collection by subject, recently added, video type (i.e. Documentary, feature film, animation, newsreel), original language, and features of the month.

How can you use Films on Demand?

  • Find inspiration and material for research papers and presentations
  • Captioning and interactive, searchable transcripts on all titles
  • Keyword tags for all content, linking to related material
  • Follow up on a clip used by a professor in class and watch the rest of the video
  • Get citations for all videos in MLA, Chicago, Harvard, and APA formats, with up-to-date citation creation and export
  • View videos anywhere, 24/7

You can access Films on Demand* from his blog post or from our Databases page.

* Please note: to access databases off campus, you will need to enter your STC username and password.

Contributed by Library Specialist William Heinrich.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context from Gale

Controversial Issues

Databases, Our Collections, Research

Need to write a paper on a Controversial topic? These controversial topic databases* will help.

 

Gale Database picture

Check out our newest database*, Opposing View Points in Context. This database provides many types of sources including: academic journals, magazines, news, videos, images, and more.

 

 

 

The database*, eLibrary Curriculum, has both Controversial Issues and Environmental Issues that can be researched.

 

 

Find additional materials in:

 

* Please note: to access databases off campus, you will need to enter your username and password.

Contributed by Librarian, Maureen Mitchell

Earth Day 2018

Book Displays, Databases, Our Collections

Earth Day picture

 

Earth Day will be celebrated around the world on April 22. Explore this year’s theme, Ending Plastic Pollution, by visiting the Earth Day Network or viewing End Plastic Pollution. National Geographics and United Nations also have short videos on the topic.

Enjoy Earth Day festivities with the Biology Club on Thursday, April 19th at 11:00 am in the Pecan Campus Courtyard.

Join in the celebration by visiting the library and checking out one of our many books or videos on the topic. Here are a few titles to get started:

Saved by the sea : hope, heartbreak, and wonder in the blue world / Helvarg, David

Call Number:  QH 91.3 .H45 A3 2015

Saved by the sea

Plastic paradise : the great pacific garbage patch / Sun, Angela

Call Number: TD 427 .P62 P53 2014 DVD

Plastic paradise the great pacific garbage patch dvd

Junk raft: an ocean voyage and a rising tide of activism to fight plastic pollution / Eriksen, Marcus

Call Number:  GC 1471 .E75 2017

Junk raft: an ocean voyage and a rising tide of activism to fight plastic pollution

Plastic ocean : how a sea captain’s chance discovery launched a quest to save the oceans / Moore, Charles

Call Number:  GC 1085 .M66 2012

Plastic ocean : how a sea captain's chance discovery launched a quest to save the oceans

A hole in the wind : a climate scientist’s bicycle journey across the United States / Goodrich, David M.

Call Number:  GV 1045 .G66 2017

A hole in the wind: a climate scientist's bicycle journey across the united states

Tapped / Soechtig, Stephanie

Call Number:  HD 9349 .M542 T36 2010 DVD

Tapped

Planet Earth: Seven Ways to Help Save the World  (database – Films on Demand)*

Planet Earth: Seven Ways to Help Save the World (Film on Demand database)

Environmental Issues  (database – eLibrary)*

* Please note: If you are off campus, you will need to enter your JagNet username and password to access library databases.

Earth Day image from: http://www.outlook.noaa.gov/earthday/index.html

Contributed by Librarian, Maureen Mitchell

 

 

Controversial Topics

Databases, Our Collections, Research

Need to write a paper on a controversial topic? Check out the database, eLibrary Curriculum’s controversial issues or environmental issues resources. *

eLibrary Curriculum database

Find additional materials in CQResearcher, Issues & Controversies, Points of View, NewBank (below Suggested Topics, see Social Issues link), and the library’s book series Opposing viewpoints.

* Please note: to access databases off campus, you will need to enter your username and password.

Contributed by Librarian, Maureen Mitchell

Asian/Pacific American Heritage Month

Databases, Our Collections

“May is Asian/Pacific American Heritage Month. The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of Asian and Pacific Islanders who have enriched America’s history and are instrumental in its future success.” (http://asianpacificheritage.gov/)

Explore this topic further in our new film database, Kanopy.*

*Please note: to access library databases off campus, you will need to enter your Jagnet username and password.

Contributed by Librarian, Maureen Mitchell

Earth Day 2017

Databases, Our Collections

Earth Day will be celebrated around the world April 22. Join in the celebration by visiting the library and checking out one of our many books or videos on the topic. Here is an online video to get started, Planet Earth: Seven Ways to Help Save the Planet, found in the database, Films on Demand. *

Additionally, Green Planet Films and The Green Interview films have many titles that may be of interest.

Enjoy Earth Day festivities with the Biology Club on April 20th at 11:00 am in the Pecan Campus Courtyard.

 

* Please note:  If you are off campus, you will need to enter your JagNet username and password to access library databases.

Contributed by Librarian, Maureen Mitchell