Category Archives: Databases

Database Spotlight – Films on Demand

Have you checked out Films on Demand  yet? At Films On Demand, content matters. Their video library has been assembled not just with a focus on volume, but also with a discerning eye for quality and relevance. It is the result of decades of careful curating with a single guiding principle: providing every academic department on campus with the most essential video titles for their field of study. We have access to a huge collection of films and documentaries, ranging from publishers like HBO, Arte France, CNBC, PBS, and The History Channel. You can browse the collection by subject, recently added, video type (i.e. documentary, feature film, animation, newsreel), original language, and features of the month.

How can you use Films on Demand?

  • Find inspiration and material for research papers and presentations
  • Captioning and interactive, searchable transcripts on all titles
  • Keyword tags for all content, linking to related material
  • Follow up on a clip used by a professor in class and watch the rest of the video
  • Get citations for all videos in MLA, Chicago, Harvard, and APA formats, with up-to-date citation creation and export
  • View videos anywhere, 24/7

You can access Films on Demandfrom his blog post or from our Databases page.

* Please note: to access databases off campus, you will need to enter your STC username and password.

Contributed by Library Specialist William Heinrich.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context from Gale

Controversial Issues

Need to write a paper on a Controversial topic? These controversial topic databases* will help.

 

Gale Database picture

Check out our newest database*, Opposing View Points in Context. This database provides many types of sources including: academic journals, magazines, news, videos, images, and more.

 

 

 

The database*, eLibrary Curriculum, has both Controversial Issues and Environmental Issues that can be researched.

 

 

Find additional materials in:

 

* Please note: to access databases off campus, you will need to enter your username and password.

Contributed by Librarian, Maureen Mitchell

Link to Flipster

Flipster

Over 40 easy-to-use popular magazines in digital / electronic format. Use a computer or mobile app to read the magazine without worrying about someone already reading it – STC students, faculty and staff have unlimited access. The magazines are readable on a computer or downloaded with a mobile app. For more assistance, please view Flipster’s tutorial.

Don’t have your favorite magazine? Suggest a title here!

Earth Day 2018

Earth Day picture

 

Earth Day will be celebrated around the world on April 22. Explore this year’s theme, Ending Plastic Pollution, by visiting the Earth Day Network or viewing End Plastic Pollution. National Geographics and United Nations also have short videos on the topic.

Enjoy Earth Day festivities with the Biology Club on Thursday, April 19th at 11:00 am in the Pecan Campus Courtyard.

Join in the celebration by visiting the library and checking out one of our many books or videos on the topic. Here are a few titles to get started:

Saved by the sea : hope, heartbreak, and wonder in the blue world / Helvarg, David

Call Number:  QH 91.3 .H45 A3 2015

Saved by the sea

Plastic paradise : the great pacific garbage patch / Sun, Angela

Call Number: TD 427 .P62 P53 2014 DVD

Plastic paradise the great pacific garbage patch dvd

Junk raft: an ocean voyage and a rising tide of activism to fight plastic pollution / Eriksen, Marcus

Call Number:  GC 1471 .E75 2017

Junk raft: an ocean voyage and a rising tide of activism to fight plastic pollution

Plastic ocean : how a sea captain’s chance discovery launched a quest to save the oceans / Moore, Charles

Call Number:  GC 1085 .M66 2012

Plastic ocean : how a sea captain's chance discovery launched a quest to save the oceans

A hole in the wind : a climate scientist’s bicycle journey across the United States / Goodrich, David M.

Call Number:  GV 1045 .G66 2017

A hole in the wind: a climate scientist's bicycle journey across the united states

Tapped / Soechtig, Stephanie

Call Number:  HD 9349 .M542 T36 2010 DVD

Tapped

Planet Earth: Seven Ways to Help Save the World  (database – Films on Demand)*

Planet Earth: Seven Ways to Help Save the World (Film on Demand database)

Environmental Issues  (database – eLibrary)*

* Please note: If you are off campus, you will need to enter your JagNet username and password to access library databases.

Earth Day image from: http://www.outlook.noaa.gov/earthday/index.html

Contributed by Librarian, Maureen Mitchell

 

 

Controversial Topics

Need to write a paper on a controversial topic? Check out the database, eLibrary Curriculum’s controversial issues or environmental issues resources. *

eLibrary Curriculum database

Find additional materials in CQResearcher, Issues & Controversies, Points of View, NewBank (below Suggested Topics, see Social Issues link), and the library’s book series Opposing viewpoints.

* Please note: to access databases off campus, you will need to enter your username and password.

Contributed by Librarian, Maureen Mitchell

Asian/Pacific American Heritage Month

“May is Asian/Pacific American Heritage Month. The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of Asian and Pacific Islanders who have enriched America’s history and are instrumental in its future success.” (http://asianpacificheritage.gov/)

Explore this topic further in our new film database, Kanopy.*

*Please note: to access library databases off campus, you will need to enter your Jagnet username and password.

Contributed by Librarian, Maureen Mitchell

Earth Day 2017

Earth Day will be celebrated around the world April 22. Join in the celebration by visiting the library and checking out one of our many books or videos on the topic. Here is an online video to get started, Planet Earth: Seven Ways to Help Save the Planet, found in the database, Films on Demand. *

Additionally, Green Planet Films and The Green Interview films have many titles that may be of interest.

Enjoy Earth Day festivities with the Biology Club on April 20th at 11:00 am in the Pecan Campus Courtyard.

 

* Please note:  If you are off campus, you will need to enter your JagNet username and password to access library databases.

Contributed by Librarian, Maureen Mitchell

 

Women’s History Month

The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum are all joining in celebrating and commemorating the role of women in American. Explore the wealth of information found at: http://womenshistorymonth.gov/

Additionally, more on this topic can be found in the library’s database, NewsBank, in the Special Report for Women’s History, shown below. *

NewsBank database

Or, watch a streaming media video on the topic in the database, Films on Demand, by selecting Women’s History Month found under the heading, Featured this Month, shown below. *

Films on Demand database

*Please note: to access library databases off campus, you will need to enter your Jagnet username and password.

 

Contributed by Librarian, Maureen Mitchell

Who Knew? NewsBank Database – National Hispanic Heritage Month

Need to research a local topic? NewsBank Database is a great place to start by following the link to Lower Rio Grande Newspapers and searching your topic. If you need ideas for a topic, follow the links to Hot Topics or Find a Topic. Check out one of the October Special Reports, such as 2016 Elections or National Hispanic Heritage Month. (To access this link to the database off campus, you will need to enter your JagNet username and password.)

Additionally, explore National Hispanic Heritage month at the Library of Congress, and the Smithsonian.

nwsbnkhispanicmo

Contributed by Librarian, Maureen Mitchell

Who Knew? Finding a Journal Online

To find a journal or magazine online from the library homepage, click on Journal Locator in the left hand menu as shown below. On the next page, type in the journal to be searched, for example, OT Practice and then click on Full Text Access when it appears. This will bring up the link to the Database that has this journal with the years of coverage included. Follow the link to the Nursing & Allied Health Database which has OT Practice journals from 2006 to present.

jrnl1

Once inside the database, shown below, one can either search the journal for the topic of interest or browse through a particular issue by clicking on year, then month and choosing the issue.

jrnl2

Contributed by Librarian, Maureen Mitchell