The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum are all joining in celebrating and commemorating the role of women in American. Explore the wealth of information found at: http://womenshistorymonth.gov/

Additionally, more on this topic can be found in the library’s database, NewsBank, in the Special Report for Women’s History, shown below. *

Or, watch a streaming media video on the topic in the database, Films on Demand, by selecting Women’s History Month found under the heading, Featured this Month, shown below. *

*Please note: to access library databases off campus, you will need to enter your Jagnet username and password.

Contributed by Librarian, Maureen Mitchell

Need to research a local topic? NewsBank Database is a great place to start by following the link to Lower Rio Grande Newspapers and searching your topic. If you need ideas for a topic, follow the links to Hot Topics or Find a Topic. Check out one of the October Special Reports, such as 2016 Elections or National Hispanic Heritage Month. (To access this link to the database off campus, you will need to enter your JagNet username and password.)

Additionally, explore National Hispanic Heritage month at the Library of Congress, and the Smithsonian.

Contributed by Librarian, Maureen Mitchell

To find a journal or magazine online from the library homepage, click on Journal Locator in the left hand menu as shown below. On the next page, type in the journal to be searched, for example, OT Practice and then click on Full Text Access when it appears. This will bring up the link to the Database that has this journal with the years of coverage included. Follow the link to the Nursing & Allied Health Database which has OT Practice journals from 2006 to present.

Once inside the database, shown below, one can either search the journal for the topic of interest or browse through a particular issue by clicking on year, then month and choosing the issue.

Contributed by Librarian, Maureen Mitchell

New Database: Statista

August 11, 2016

The Library has added Statista to its online database collection.  Statista provides forecasts, studies, reports, statistics, and infographics from approximately 18,000 sources. Statista includes subject dossiers and industry reports for market and industry research.  It also provides domestic and foreign data on social and demographic trends.  Searches can be refined by filtering and sorting.  Search results can be downloaded in various formats together with citation information for use in presentations.  Statista can be accessed from the Library’s Databases page at http://library.southtexascollege.edu/resources/databases/

Contributed by Jesús Campos, Director of Library Technical Services.

Need to find a resource with background information or an overview of a topic? Check out the library’s database, Credo Reference, which has hundreds of subject encyclopedias that can be cited instead of Wikipedia. *

*Please note: If you are off campus, you will need to enter your JagNet username and password to access library databases.

Contributed by Librarian, Maureen Mitchell

New Database: Naxos Music Library

May 4, 2016

The Library has added Naxos Music Library to its online database collection.  Naxos Music Library offers streaming access to more than 124,500 CDs with more than 1,800,000 tracks of fine arts music. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. Naxos Music Library provides several options for searching and browsing the collection.

Use Naxos Music Library to look up and listen to music you read about or hear about in class. Naxos Music Library sound recordings may not be downloaded, copied, or used for commercial purposes. Naxos Music Library can be accessed from the Library’s Online Library page at http://library.southtexascollege.edu/resources/databases/

Contributed by Jesús Campos, Director of Technical Services.

Asian Pacific American Heritage Month is celebrated nationally during the month of May. In tribute, the Library of Congress provides a wealth of information at: http://asianpacificheritage.gov/ as does the Smithsonian at Smithsonian Education – Asian Pacific American Heritage Month.

Explore one of the many videos in Films on Demand on this topic found in the row titled, Featured this Month, shown below. *

* Please note: If you are off campus, you will need to enter your JagNet username and password to access library databases.

Contributed by Librarian, Maureen Mitchell

Earth Day will be celebrated around the world on April 22nd. Join in the celebration by visiting the library and checking out one of our many videos on the topic. Here are a few titles to get started:

#1) Years of living dangerously: the complete series / Cameron, James

Call Number: QC 902.9 .Y437 2014 DVD

Also found online in Films on Demand database.*

#2) Tapped / Soechtig, Stephanie

Call Number: HD 9349 .M542 T36 2010 DVD

#3) The 11th hour / Conners, Nadia.

Call Number: GF 75 .A13 2008 DVD

#4) Plastic paradise : the great Pacific garbage patch / Sun, Angela

Call Number: TD 427 .P62 P53 2014 DVD

#5) Vanishing of the bees [videorecording] / Langworthy, George

Call Number: SF 538.5 .C65 V36 2010 DVD

#6) Dirt! : the movie [videorecording] / Benenson, Bill

Call Number: S 591 .D57 2009 DVD

#7) Gasland : Can you light your water on fire? / Fox, Josh

Call Number: TN 881 .A1 G373 2010 DVD & ( Part II: TD 195 .G3 .G37 2014 DVD)

#8) Food, Inc / Kenner, Robert

Call Number: TP 370.2 .F66 2009 DVD

#9)Unacceptable levels / Author Brown

Call Number: RA 1226 .U533 2013 DVD

Also found online in Films on Demand. *

#10) GMO trilogy / Smith, Jeffrey M.

Call Number: TP 248.65 .F66 G66 2006 DVD

Additionally, many related titles can be found in the Films on Demand database by searching Earth Day or Environmental Science. Check out the online videos, Blue Gold: World Water Wars or Flow: For Love of Water to get started.    The Green Interview films and Green Planet Films also have many related titles of interest.*

* Please note: If you are off campus, you will need to enter your JagNet username and password to access library databases.

Contributed by Librarian, Maureen Mitchell

Earth Day image from www.rinconeducativo.org with changes under creative common: CC BY-NC 2.5

Women’s History Month is celebrated nationally during the month of March. Explore one of the many videos in Films on Demand on this topic found in the row titled, Featured this Month, shown below. *

Additionally, check out NewsBank database’s Special Report – Women’s History and the database, The History Center – Women’s History. *

* Please note: If you are off campus, you will need to enter your JagNet username and password to access library databases.

Contributed by Librarian, Maureen Mitchell

Need to research a local topic? NewsBank Database is a great place to start by following the link to Rio Grand Valley News and searching your topic. If you need ideas for a topic, follow the links to Hot Topics or Find a Topic. Check out one of February Special Reports, such as 2016 Elections, Zika Virus, or Black History Month. (To access this link to the database off campus, you will need to enter your JagNet username and password.)

Contributed by Librarian, Maureen Mitchell