New Database: NewsBank—Access World News

November 30, 2015

The Library has added NewsBank — Access World News to its collection of online databases.  NewsBank — Access World News is a news content database covering news sources from throughout the world, including the United States, Texas and the Rio Grande Valley.  Sources include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos.  Coverage can extend back several years depending on the source.  In addition to a standard search box, the database also provides a feature, called Find a Topic, which enables users to browse through news content using general subject categories.

NewsBank — Access World News can be accessed from the Library’s Online Library page at http://library.southtexascollege.edu/resources/databases/?libpage=N#

The database can also be searched from the Discovery Search results page using the NewsBank widget pictured below:

Contributed by Jesús Campos, Director of Technical Services.

The Library has added Alexander Street Press’ Stanford Executive Briefing Series: Thought Leaders collection of online videos.  Alexander Street Press is an online service that provides educational videos in streaming video format. The Stanford Executive Briefing Series: Thought Leaders collection consists of 20 lectures by corporate executives and scholars on leadership and business management topics.

Searching and viewing Alexander Street Press Stanford Executive Briefing Series videos does not require creating an account. However, by creating an account, users can create folders with playlists, share video segments by e-mail, or post video segments to online course management programs like Blackboard. The Stanford Executive Briefing Series collectioncan be accessed by selecting Alexander Street Press — Stanford Executive Briefing Series from the Library’s Databases page at http://library.southtexascollege.edu/resources/databases

Contributed by Jesús Campos, Director of Technical Services.

Did you know you can search for journal articles from our TexShare Databases in Google Scholar? From Google Scholar, click on Settings as shown below.

Next, click on Library links on the left which will bring up a search box. Type South Texas College and search to bring up the below options. Check: Open WorldCat and South Texas College, and Save.

In Google Scholar, search your keywords, for example, “adhesive capsulitis” “mobilization techniques”, will bring up the below results. To see the article from our databases, click on the Texshare EBSCOhost link. To find more articles on the same topic, click on Related articles. To see the article citation in several formats, click on Cite.

Additionally, students of Paralegal Studies can find case law in Google Scholar by clicking on the case law option found below the search box on the initial Google Scholar search page, in the top illustration.

Contributed by Librarian, Maureen Mitchell

The STC Library has added JoVE’s General Laboratory Techniques streaming video collection to its research databases. The General Laboratory Techniques collection was created by JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments), a PubMed/MEDLINE-indexed, peer reviewed, scientific video journal that intends to make it easier to learn and reproduce scientific techniques by viewing them.

The JoVE General Laboratory Techniques collectioncan be accessed by selecting JoVE from the Library’s Online Library page at

http://library.southtexascollege.edu/resources/databases/?libpage=J

Contributed by Jesús Campos, Director of Technical Services.

The Library has acquired the Latino-Hispanic American Experience: Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers digital collection. This EBSCO digital resource is the second series of the Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection and consists of newspapers, letters, advertisements, and other primary source documents covering Latino-Hispanic civil rights, religion, and women’s rights.

Latino-Hispanic American Experience: Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers can be accessed from the Library’s Online Library page at http://library.southtexascollege.edu/resources/databases/?libpage=L

Contributed by Jesús Campos, Director of Technical Services.

Do you have a quote from a database article, but forgot to note your source?  There is a way to find it!

For example, to find the following highlighted quote found in Academic Search Complete, copy the quote:

Today, Travel & Tourism accounts for some 9.2 percent of our nation’s GDP … That’s worth almost $1.4 trillion dollars … And it provides nearly 14 million jobs. That’s practically 10 percent, or 1 out of every 10 jobs in the United States of America.

Next open Academic Search Complete, and choose “Smart Text Searching” located underneath the ”Search Mode” option.  Additionally, check off the box “Also search within the full text of the articles.”

Now paste the quote into the search box as shown below and search!..

After executing the search, the first article in the list of results is where the quote is found.

http://library.southtexascollege.edu/databases?libpage=A

Contributed by librarian Maureen Mitchell.

Looking for a Hoover Company Profile or SEC financial statement, the library has just what you need in the database, WestlawNext Campus Research. Once you are in the database, click on the news link:

In the next window, click on Hoover’s Company Profiles to bring up the link you will need to follow.

On the left side under Search These Sources, to see a Company Profile, click on Hoover’s Company Profiles or to see a SEC financial statement, click on SEC Filings. After clicking, search the company to bring up the desired information.

http://library.southtexascollege.edu/resources/databases?libpage=W

Submitted by librarian Maureen Mitchell.

Need to pick an author for a report but don’t know where to start? Gale Literary Database(link), found under Contemporary Authors, is a great way for students who have an idea but need help narrowing down their choices.

A useful feature in Gale Literary Database is the “Dictionary of Literary Biography.”  It allows users to find authors by browsing:

• genre
• topic
• age
• nationality

Contributed by Gina Otvos, Library Specialist.

Fellow gamers!

Interested in reading about the newest games from the most popular Video Game publications around like Electronic Gaming Monthly or Computer Gaming World?

Or maybe you’d like to travel back in time and read articles about those 90’s games right at the peak of home console gaming?

Or maybe you’re writing a research paper on one of the most popular hobbies of ALL TIME?

Well, WHO KNEW that South Texas College Library has a database called the Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center that has ALL of that and a lot more!!

Once you’re on the database, click on the Indoor Recreation category link and you can select Video Games to bring you a TON of articles dating back all the way from 1997 to the Present from the best Video Game publications in the country!  PUSH START and have fun!!

http://library.southtexascollege.edu/resources/online-databases/?libpage=H

Blog post contributed by Ricardo Rosales.

The Library has added Safari Tech Books Online to its collection of research databases.  Safari Tech Books Online is a digital e-book subscription service specializing in computer science books.

The collection consists of several thousand current titles covering a wide range of computer science and information technology topics including:

• programming,
• professional certifications,
• IT networking,
• project management,
• home computing,
• and more.

Access to Safari Tech Books Online is limited to two simultaneous users.

The Safari Tech Books Online collection can be accessed from the Library’s Online Library page at http://library.southtexascollege.edu/resources/online-databases?libpage=S

Contributed by Jesús Campos, Director of Technical Services.