Databases

library important notice

Due to Hurricane Harvey, all South Texas College campuses will be closed from Friday, August 25th, through Sunday, August 27th.

library notice

General notice goes here.

Discovery Search allows you to search our library catalog and most, but not all, databases with a single search.

= Database not included in Discovery Search
Click to view all

= Online Videos
Click to view all

A

Academic Search Complete

– Scholarly and general interest journals in all fields. View tutorial.

Agricola

– Articles, reports, and citations from the National Agricultural Library. View tutorial.

Alexander Street Press: Stanford Executive Briefing Series

– Streaming video of business lectures by executive leaders, including business professor, CEOs, and entrepreneurs.

Alt HealthWatch

– In-depth coverage of complementary and alternative medicine. View tutorial.

Ambrose Digital

– Online videos in history, literature, and science, with supplemental guides.

America: History and Life with Full Text

– Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Includes hundreds of full-text journals and books, and selective indexing for journals dating back more than 60 years. View tutorial.

American Indian Histories and Cultures

– Historical and personal documents of the colonization of the Americas from early contacts between European settlers and American Indians.

American West

– Documents containing tales of frontier life, Pioneers, Wild West shows, the Gold Rush, vigilantes and outlaws.

Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1

– Latino-Hispanic history, literature, and culture published between 1610 and late 1900s. View tutorial.

Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2

– Documents covering the history of Latino-Hispanic civil rights, religion, and women’s rights. View tutorial.

Artemis Literary Sources

– Literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, and biographical information.

ARTstor

– Over one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. View tutorial.

Auto Repair Reference Center

– Information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. View tutorial.

B

Bibliography of Native North Americans

– Bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. View tutorial.

Book Review Digest Plus

– Book reviews from multiple sources on a wide range of topics. View tutorial.

Britannica: Academic

– Online version of Encyclopedia Britannica, which contains the Merriam-Webster Dictionary. View tutorial.

Business Abstracts with Full Text

– Primary business magazines and academic journals. View tutorial.

Business Source Complete

– Magazines, newspapers, and journals related to all areas of business. View tutorial.

C

CINAHL

– Nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and consumer health literature. View tutorial.

Clinical Pharmacology

– Drug information, such as dosage, contraindications, and adverse reactions. View tutorial.

Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography

– Information on the lives and writings of nearly 100,000 authors along with critiques of their works.

Computer Source

– Latest information and current trends in computer technology. View tutorial.

CQ Researcher

– Comprehensive coverage of current public policy issues, politics, and positions.

Credo Reference

– Large collection of valuable reference resources in a wide range of topics. View tutorial.

D

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online

– Contains information on the lives, works, and careers of the world’s most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.

Directory of Open Access Journals

– Scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.

DSM Library

– Standard diagnostic tool for mental health professionals concerning psychiatric disorders.

E

All EBSCO Databases

– Complete list of EBSCO databases.

EBSCOhost eBook Collection

– Thousands of full-text ebooks. View tutorial.

Educational Administration Abstracts

– Bibliographic records related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management and educational research. View tutorial.

eLibrary Curriculum

– Large reference collection that includes ProQuest Learning: Literature and History Study Center. View tutorial.

Emerald

– Full-text journal articles on management and economics. View tutorial.

ERIC – Education Resources Information Center

– Education-related literature from pre-K through adult education. View tutorial.

Essay and General Literature Index

– Index for essays and works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. View tutorial.

Explora

– A search interface for children. View tutorial.

F

Family Studies Abstracts

– Bibliographic records related to family studies, including marriage, divorce and family therapy. View tutorial.

Films on Demand

– Online videos in the humanities, social sciences, business, science, health & medicine, careers, and technical & trade education. View tutorial.

Fuente Academica Premier

– Spanish language journals from respected publishers worldwide. View tutorial.

Funk & Wagnall’s New Encyclopedia

– Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas. View tutorial.

G

Gale Virtual Reference Library

– Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. View tutorial.

Gleeditions Literature Unbound

– Interactive, digital editions of great world literature. View tutorial.

GreenFile

– Journals covering various aspects of human impact on the environment. View tutorial.

H

HAPI – Hispanic American Periodicals Index

– Citations for articles related to Hispanics/Latinos in the United States and Latin America. View tutorial.

Health Reference Center Academic

– Articles on a wide variety of health-related issues.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

– Consumer health magazines and reports. View tutorial.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

– Health, nursing and allied health journals. View tutorial.

HeritageQuest

– Unique collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. View tutorial.

History Study Center

– History journals, documents, photographs, and videos. View tutorial.

History Vault: Immigration Collection

– Records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service from 1880-1930. View tutorial.

Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center

– Instructions and creative ideas for popular hobbies, crafts and recreation activities. View tutorial.

Home Improvement Reference Center

– Detailed, user-friendly instructions and videos for home improvement and repair projects. View tutorial.

Humanities Full Text

– Many of the most important academic journals in the humanities. View tutorial.

I

Information Science & Technology Abstracts

– Abstracts for journals and books related to libraries and information management. View tutorial.

Issues & Controversies

– Authoritative factual analysis of opposing points of view.

J

Job & Career Accelerator

– Easy-to-use online application for a successful job search. View tutorial.

JoVE

– Science education videos that teach laboratory fundamentals.

JSTOR

– Complete back issues of core scholarly journals in all disciplines. View tutorial.

K

Kanopy

– Contains streaming videos, including documentaries, independent films, and foreign films.

L

LearningExpress Library

– Courses in computer skills and test preparation for GED, citizenship, and career exams.

Legal Collection

– Contains material from nearly 250 of the world’s most respected scholarly law journals. View tutorial.

Legal Forms Library

– Provides a selection of legal forms across the most popular legal areas, such as real estate contracts, wills, bankruptcy, and divorce.

Legal Information Reference Center

– Offers tools and detailed how-to instructions covering a wide range of legal issues. View tutorial.

LexisNexis: Academic

– Provides government, news, business, and legal publications. View tutorial.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text

– Journals covering librarianship and information management. View tutorial.

Literary Reference Center

– Biographies, classic texts, and literary criticisms on thousands of authors and their works. View tutorial.

Literature Criticism Online

– Reviews, criticism, and commentary on contemporary authors and children’s authors. View tutorial.

Literature Resource Center

– Information on both classical and contemporary authors and their works. View tutorial.

M

MAS Ultra: School Edition

– Popular general interest and current events publications. View tutorial.

MasterFILE Premier

– Multidisciplinary database covering virtually every subject area of general interest. View tutorial.

MedicLatina

– Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals. View tutorial.

MEDLINE

– Abstracts for a wide range of medical journals. View tutorial.

Middle Search Plus

– Nearly 140 popular magazines for middle and junior high school research. View tutorial.

Military & Government Collection

– News and articles on all branches of the military and government. View tutorial.

N

Natural & Alternative Treatments

– Information on medical conditions and conventional, natural, and alternative treatments.

Naxos Music Library

– An online classical music library.

NewsBank

– Search news from local, regional, and national sources by location or topic.

Newspaper Source

– Regional, national, and international newspapers and television and radio news transcripts. View tutorial.

O

Oxford Reference

– Electronic books in various disciplines. View tutorial.

P

Play Index

– Index of over 30,000 plays. View tutorial.

Points of View

– Overviews, points, counterpoints, and guides to critical analysis of controversial topics. View tutorial.

Primary Search

– Popular magazines for elementary school research. View tutorial.

PRISMA – Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas

– Journals in social science and humanities related to Hispanic and Latin America.

Professional Development Collection

– Highly specialized education journals for professional educators. View tutorial.

ProCitizen

– Online course to prepare for U.S. citizenship. Includes civics, reading, and writing portions of the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services Naturalization Test.

Project MUSE

– Ebook collections in literature, U.S. regional studies, and global cultural studies. View tutorial.

Pronunciator

– Tool for learning to speak, read, and write 80 languages. Includes live tutors, feature films, music with lyrics, pronunciation analysis, and quizzes.

ProQuest eBook Central

– Large collection of ebooks on a variety of subjects. View tutorial.

ProQuest Learning: Literature

– Original literature works, author biographies, and literary criticisms. View tutorial.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source

– Journals and resources related to various nursing and allied health fields. View tutorial.

Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection

– Journals containing information on psychology and related disciplines. View tutorial.

R

Race Relations Abstracts

– Content that focuses on the relationship between races, including ethnic studies, discrimination and immigration studies. View tutorial.

RAND Texas: State Statistics

– Texas statistics for a wide range of topics.

RCL – Resources for College Libraries

– Online edition of Resources for College Libraries for collection development.

Regional Business News

– Regional business publications from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. View tutorial.

Religion & Philosophy

– Extensive coverage of world religions, philosophy, and related fields. View tutorial.

S

Safari Tech Books Online – (2 user limit)

– Extensive collection of digital books on programming, IT networking, project management, personal certifications, home computing and more. View tutorial.

Salud en Español

– Reportes completos basados en evidencias y fichas de datos relacionados a todos los aspectos de la salud y el bienestar.

Science & Technology Collection

– Journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. View tutorial.

Science Direct

– Vast collection of journals and ebooks in the sciences and humanities. View tutorial.

Science in Context

– Contains science magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, and audio files.

SciTech Premium Collection

– Contains specialized scholarly research and technical literature, including the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection. View tutorial.

Scribner Writers Online

– Essays on more than 2,000 authors and literary genres, drawn from the acclaimed Scribner print series.

Serials Directory

– Bibliographic information and current pricing structures for popular serials. View tutorial.

Short Story Index

– Index of the important collections and anthologies of short stories that are published each year. View tutorial.

Small Business Reference Center

– Wide variety of information in small business and entrepreneurial subject areas. View tutorial.

Small Engine Repair Reference Center

– Detailed repair guides for small engines, including motorcycle and personal water craft repair. View tutorial.

Statista

– A database of statistical information including statistics, forecasts, studies, reports, and infographics from approximately 18,000 sources. View tutorial.

T

Teacher Reference Center

– Indexing and abstracts for journals and magazines to assist professional educators. View tutorial.

TeachingBooks.net

– Includes thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment.

Texas Reference Center

– Journals, reference books, and reports relevant to the state of Texas. View tutorial.

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps

– Digitized maps of Texas towns and cities throughout the past one hundred years. View tutorial.

Today’s Science

– Latest scientific discoveries and the fundamental concepts that underlie them.

TOPICSearch

– Diverse articles involving popular topics in contemporary society. View tutorial.

Twayne’s Authors Online

– Contains information on World, US, and English authors, drawn from the Twayne Literary Masters books.

Twentieth Century Poetry (American and English)

– Poetry from renowned American and English authors published since 1900.

V

Vocational & Career Collection

– Collection of trade and industry-related periodicals. View tutorial.

W

World News Digest

– Essential news facts as reported in major newspapers and magazines from around the world.

WorldCat Discovery

– Find which items are owned in thousands of libraries worldwide.

Search Separately From Discovery Search

eBook Collections

Online Video Collections